[ApaIllinois] 2012 APA-IL Award Winners

Paula Freeze, APA-IL Editor editor at ilapa.org
Mon Aug 20 12:54:34 CDT 2012




Rob Kowalski, AICP president at ilapa.org

Courtney Kashima, AICP

T.J. Blakeman, AICP

Bob Zimmerer, AICP

Michael Blue, FAICP 
Sharon P. Caddigan, AICP 
Phil Dick, AICP 
Vijay Gadde, AICP 
Steve Lazarra, AICP
Andrew Meindl 
Jamie Simone, AICP 
Karen L. Stonehouse, AICP 
Ethan Tabakin 

John H. Paige, AICP
admin at ilapa.org

Editor & Webmaster 
Paula Freeze
editor at ilapa.org


Making Great 
Communities Happen
in Illinois



The results are in! The winners of the 2012 APA-IL Awards Program are listed below. This year we received 39 nominations – a wonderful demonstration of the high-quality planning work being done around Illinois. This year, we once again entered into an arrangement with the Missouri Chapter of American Planning Association (APA-MO) to “swap” the jurying of the awards. This process was mutually beneficial and allowed all communities to participate since no juror’s community would be conflicted out of competition. Thank you to all volunteer jury members and APA-MO.

Daniel Burnham Award for a Comprehensive Plan
Project Name: Village of Downers Grove 2030 Comprehensive Plan
Community: Village of Downers Grove
Project Lead: Houseal Lavigne Associates

Strategic Plan
Project Name: McHenry County Green Infrastructure Plan
Community: McHenry County
Project Lead: In-house

Best Practice
Project Name: Complete Streets, Complete Networks: A Manual for the Design of Active Transportation
Community: Cook County
Project Lead: Active Transportation Alliance 

Project Name: Modern Schools Across Chicago
Community: City of Chicago
Project Lead: Public Building Commission

Community Outreach
Project Name: Rockford Choice Neighborhoods Plan: Neighborhood Planning Handbook
Community: City of Rockford
Project Lead: Camiros

Project Name: Stearns Road Bridge Corridor
Community: Kane County
Project Lead: In-house

Project Name: Knoxville Main Street
Community: City of Knoxville
Project Lead: Ellie Cosky, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign 

Winners will be presented with an award at the Annual Awards Luncheon held during the APA IL Annual Conference in Urbana-Champaign, IL on Thursday, September 20th, 2012. Visit the conference website for more details on the full conference: over 35 sessions and mobile workshops offering over 30 CM credits plus numerous social events!

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: http://list.planning.org/pipermail/apaillinois/attachments/20120820/cbc641d2/attachment.html 

More information about the ApaIllinois mailing list