[ApaIllinois] Congratulations to APA-IL's 2014 FAICP Inductees

Paula Freeze, APA-IL Editor editor at ilapa.org
Wed Mar 12 07:02:48 CDT 2014

Courtney Kashima, AICP president at ilapa.org

T.J. Blakeman, AICP

Malika Hainer

Jake Seid, AICP

Michael Blue, FAICP
Elli Cosky 
Philip Dick, AICP 
Melissa Schramm 
Rob Kowalski, AICP 
Billy Lyman 
Kimberly Porter, AICP 
David Silverman, AICP
Jamie Simone, AICP 
James Testin, AICP

John H. Paige, AICP
admin at ilapa.org

Editor & Webmaster 
Paula Freeze
editor at ilapa.org


Making Great 
Communities Happen
in Illinois

  March 12, 2011

Congratulations to  APA-IL's 2014 FAICP Inductees
Steve Friedman, AICP |  Laurie Marston, AICP
Jim Peters, AICP | Pattsi Petrie, AICP

CHICAGO, IL -- Fellows of the American Institute of Certified Planners (FAICP) are  honored in recognition of the achievements of the planner as an individual,  elevating the Fellow before the public and the profession as a model planner  who has made significant contributions to planning and society. Fellowship  is granted to planners who have been members of AICP and have achieved  excellence in professional practice, teaching and mentoring, research,  public and community service, and leadership. 

The Illinois Chapter is  pleased to recognize the achievement of the following APA-IL members who  have been elected into the 2014 College of Fellows of the American Institute  of Certified Planners: 

Jim Peters, AICP, Professional Practice. Jim Peters is known as a tireless  advocate for historic preservation planning, an innovator in the protection  and reuse of historic properties, a willing volunteer, and a mentor to many.  Jim is currently a consultant and adjunct professor but spent many years at  the City of Chicago and Landmarks Illinois working to protect the historic  resources of Illinois communities. Jim was nominated by the Illinois Chapter  of the American Planning Association. 

Steve Friedman, AICP, Professional Practice. Steve has left an  indelible mark on planning, particularly as it relates to the practice of  economic development. This includes transformative urban redevelopment  projects; innovative public-private development finance; creating a  Chicago-based firm that is a rigorous training ground and professional  environment for planners; advancing best practices through extensive  speaking and writing; and educating other development and municipal  professionals. Steve was nominated by the Illinois Chapter of the American  Planning Association. 

Laurie Marston, AICP, Community Service  and Leadership. Laurie  Marston is a prominent Illinois planner who has demonstrated her community  service and leadership through extensive citizen planner training,  influential publications, expertise in conflict resolution and an impressive  record of civic volunteerism. Illinois Chapter members may know Laurie  through the Citizen Planners Training Program or the continuing education  programs of the Chaddick Institute for Metropolitan Development at DePaul  University. Laurie was nominated by the Planning and Women Division of the  American Planning Association. 

Pattsi Petrie, AICP, Community Service and Leadership. Dr. Pattsi  Petrie, known internationally and nationally as an educator and researcher,  and advocate of urban planning has been responsible for influential  continuing education programs and for the development of a new  decision-making model for planners. Pattsi worked for many years with the  University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Department of Urban and Regional  Planning in their continuing education program and is now a Champaign County  Board member where she advocates for social justice and environmental  sustainability. Pattsi was nominated by the Planning and Women Division of  the American Planning Association. 

FAICP Induction Ceremony and Reception  

To recognize their accomplishments and contributions to the planning 
    profession, the members listed above will become Fellows upon their 
    induction during the 2014 Induction Ceremony at the 2014 National Planning  Conference in Atlanta. The Induction Ceremony will be held at the  Atlanta Marriott Marquis, Atrium A, on April 27, 2014 from 4:30–6pm.  Division members and friends are welcome. 

During the ceremony, each inductee will be introduced, presented 
    with a certificate, and celebrated with a statement of accomplishment by the College of Fellows Committee. While this year’s Induction Ceremony is free,  it remains a ticketed event. If you plan to attend you will still need to  register. 

The Induction Ceremony will be followed by a ticketed reception with 
    light hor d’oeuvres and drinks from 6:15–7:15 p.m. Tickets, including 
    two free drink vouchers, may be purchased at planning.org for $75 each.
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: http://list.planning.org/pipermail/apaillinois/attachments/20140312/a505b753/attachment.html 

More information about the ApaIllinois mailing list